Beef stew à la Mimi

I rarely cook meat, mostly because until last week my daughter wouldn’t eat red meat, so it seemed pointless to cook just for myself. But last week I had a craving – beef stew. So I made small portion and both my boyfriend and daughter loved it so much that I made it again today. The key is to let it cook for several hours and I have to say, having it cook in a cast iron pan – mine is a gorgeous turquoise LeCreuset – just makes all the difference.

img_5141

INGREDIENTS:
– 500g beef

– 500g carrots

– 2 onions

– 4 cloves of garlic

– some cumin

– some salt

– some coriander powder

– some vegetable oil

– 2 cups of water

METHOD:

  • Preheat the oven at 200C
  • Sauté the onions, garlic in some vegetable oil – I try not to put too much, but yet enough for it not to dry out. Maybe 2tbsps
  • add the beef, let that get some nice colour
  • add the carrots
  • add the seasoning
  • let it sauté for about 6mins
  • then add water and put in the oven for at least 2 hours. The longer you cook it for the more tender the meat will be but be careful that the juice doesn’t run out. If it does, add some hot water.
  • stir occasionally to make sure it’s not burning.
  • Serve it with sweet/normal potatoes and green such as kale and there you go!

 

Leave a Reply

